Benue News

Ortom Swears-In Nine New Commissioners, Assigns Portfolios

Governor Samuel Ortom has sworn-in nine new commissioners with a charge to them to deploy their experience to strengthen effective administration and good governance in the State.

Performing the ceremony at the New Banquet Hall of Benue Peoples House, Makurdi, Governor Ortom charged the Commissioners to quickly settle down and acquaint themselves with the policy thrust of his administration.

The Governor reminded the new Commissioners that though they were recommended by various stakeholders, they must show maximum loyalty to him, pointing out that the era of godfatherism was gone in the State.

He said his movement from All Progressives Congress, APC, into the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, marked the end of that era adding that he was completely free and transparently running the affairs of the State as reflected in the judicious application of the recent Paris Club refund, saying no leader in the PDP demanded money from the refund.

The Governor re-echoed his charge to all his appointees to resist the temptation to indulge in any corrupt practices by diverting public funds, stressing that anyone found culpable would not be spared.

Governor Ortom alerted Benue stakeholders of the imminent persecution of his administration by officials of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission,  EFCC, and other agents of the Federal Government.

He said the United Nations Regional Representatives in the country was denied of landing rights in the State to have  first-hand information on the killings and destruction perpetrated by herdsmen with thousands taking refuge in camps.

Responding on behalf of the new Commissioners, Comrade Joseph Shimaor assured the Governor of their unalloyed loyalty and dedication to promoting the policies of his administration.

Comrade Shimaor pointed out that they were coming in at a critical time and pledged to propagate the good work of the Governor.

The newly sworn-in Commissioners were also assigned portfolios.
Mr. Hyacinth Nyakuma is to take charge of Agriculture and Natural Resources while Dr. Emmanuel Eru is assigned to Health and Human Services.

Comrade Joseph Shimaor is for Information and Orientation, Mr. Merga Kachina, Industry, Trade and Investment, Aondover Iorver is the new commissioner for the new Ministry for Rural Development and Cooperatives while Shiaondo Aarga takes charge of Water Resources.
Mrs. Ladi Ishegbe is to take charge of Women Affairs and Social Development, Emmanuel Manger, Works, Transport and Energy while Hajiya Salamatu Idi is Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development.

The Governor explained that the two remaining commissioners for the ministries of Housing and Urban Development and that of Arts and Culture would be sworn-in at a later date.